Brave New Start

_dsc1860

So, where does one start when beginning a photo blog?

I guess an introduction would be good.  I’ve been taking photographs for a good long time now, maybe more than 40 years.  It’s been an on and off process; I’d throw myself into it for a while, then back off for a while and you’d be right to guess that I’m in an into photography phase at the moment.

I do sell some photos through various agencies and what not, but I’ve always considered myself an amateur.  I like to keep things simple, and running a business isn’t a simple thing to do.  It would certainly get very much in the way of taking photos, so I’ll carry on bumbling along in the slow lane, if that’s OK with you.

The photo above is available to buy as a print, if that’s to your fancy.  Just click on the word “buy” back there.  In fact it would be kind of helpful to me if you’d click on it anyway.  No obligation and all that, but you’re getting this fabulous prose free and gratis, and I intend to keep doing it – for a while, at least.

That’s the hard sell done – I was never cut out to be a salesman, as you’ll have guessed.

I really hope you’ve enjoyed the read, that you have a great day, and that you’ll carry on reading.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Brave New Start

  1. I have told this story before, probably on my blog. I too have been in and out of photography for over 40 years. It all began in 1969 or 1970 when I was employed as an instructor at the University of South Carolina. I, being a Type A personality, took my job seriously. Consequently, I developed a spastic colon. After some uncomfortable and awkward tests, the doctor told me, “Ed, you need a hobby. Go buy a camera.” Later in that appointment, he told me to come back and see him in 6 months.

    I bought the camera which delighted one of my graduate assistants who was a serious armature photographer (today he is probably retired after a successful law practice in Albany GA). He helped me set up a B&W dark room and tutored me. After 6 months I went back to the doctor whose observation at the end of the exam was “I thought I told you to get a hobby.” He scratched his chin, “Yes, I even told you to buy a camera.”

    I happened to have had some prints in the car and ran out to get to show the doctor.

    This is the fourth or fifth of your photos I have seen and commented on. You do interesting and nice images. I enjoy them immensely.

    Warmest regards, Ed

    Like

Leave a Reply

